Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Zed
    Participant

Newbie here, in a search to find a Homegrown of my own, I have come across an S 9 [six ] .40. I looked in the catalog scans and found S9 six .10 & .20 & .30 but not a .40 ? Does anyone know what this is ? It has the smaller pivot point and grip shifters. I’d like to find out what it is before I go see it………Thanks

littlehg
    Participant

Hi Zed, I bought a S96.40 back in the day. It was the lower end model, green and matte titanium in color. The swing arm is aluminum and the upper is cro-mo. The pivot is smaller, as you mentioned, with a threaded sealed bearing type assembly that is significantly heavier and with many more pieces then its bigger brothers. The frame design is the same as HG in other respects: asymmetrical chainstay, the keyhole-looking seatstays, the natural lock out when standing in the pedals, the beefy head-tube gusset. I still have the frameset, though i stripped its components for other projects. i took this one apart because i just could not, for the life of me, get rid of the chain suck. I worked in a shop at the time, and swapped and tried everything, but couldnt stop it. it resulted in nasty damage to the chainstay. since the rider weighed more then the average rider, i attributed it to play in the pivot. i couldn’t detect anything in the stand, but i simply had no other answers. Please don’t take this as Solid and Fact, its just my experiences. I still have the framset, I’ve held onto it all these years because i just cant bear to toss it.