Schwinn Homegrown Model Identifier Forums General Stuff Homegrown Talk Value of a Project Colorado Frame?

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    emiart
    Participant

Hello-

I’m a newbie to the site, although a Homegrown fan since the beginning.  I recently purchased Project Colorado off Craigslist (in Colorado), in near mint condition.  I was going to use it for my trail bike, but if it’s a very valuable frame I might not want to bash it up on trails, but sell it and buy something less collectible.  Any thoughts on what the frame would be worth?

Thanks!!

walktheline
    Participant

This is an old frame – like maybe 96 or 97…. you may get a couple hundred for it.  I wouldn’t go beyond 500 max.  They are more collectors items and show items, than great frames.  The technology has changed so much now that only true die-hards will pay top dollar for a mint or near mint frame.  The older parts is the killer on most bikes.  No one wants an 8speed xt or xtr circa 1999-2000.  I think you could sell this whole rig for about 5-600 to start.  You may get 700 if there was something to sweeten the deal.

emiart
    Participant

Thanks for the info!

livernose
    Participant

That’s a nice frame. I personally have 2. They are a very limited edition and are very hard to find. They were made in 1994 and if you look on the bottom bracket there should be a date stamp. Most people don’t know what they are and aren’t interested in paying a lot of money for them. I agree with the previous comments about it being a display or collector frame. I have ridden mine in the dirt for over 10 years and now use it for a hybrid style with 1 1/2″ smooth tires. I just did a 123 mile ride last weekend around Lake Okeechobee with a few friends on paved and unpaved trails. 

seriously_tho
    Participant

Hey OP, how did you come out on this?  Did it sell? I’m trying to get a barometer on these, a friend came up with one the other day that’s never been built.

livernose